Spain Euro 2020 Squad Announced

Spain  Euro 2020 squad has been announced and the main talking point is the omission of Real Madrid captain Sergio Ramos.

Spain Euro 2020 Squad Announced

The Spain national team coach Luis Enrique announced his group for the tournament, which was postponed last summer and will begin next month, on Monday morning.

Due to the effects of the coronavirus pandemic, each coach was granted a 26-man allowance for their Euros squad.

Enrique, however, opted to name just 24 players, leaving out Ramos.

Aymeric Laporte included

The Manchester City defender who had the injury plugged season and recent change nationality from France to Spanish was also included in the squad. 

Wolves forward Adama Traore and Paris St Germain’s Pablo Sarabia were surprise inclusions as forwards ahead of Celta Vigo’s Iago Aspas, the second-highest Spanish goalscorer in La Liga this season.

Spain Euro 2020 squad

Goalkeepers: David De Gea, Unai Simon, Robert Sanchez.

Defenders: Aymeric Laporte, Jordi Alba, Jose Gaya, Pau Torres, Eric Garcia, Diego Llorente, Cesar Azpilicueta, Marcos Llorente.

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets, Rodri, Pedri, Thiago, Koke, Fabian.

Forwards: Dani Olmo, Mikel Oyarzabal, Alvaro Morata, Gerard Moreno, Ferran Torres, Adama Traore, Pablo Sarabia.

Euro 2020, which has been delayed by a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, starts on June 11.

Spain, who face Portugal and Lithuania in friendlies at the start of next month, are in Group E alongside Sweden, Slovakia, and Poland.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: